Stream: Nujabeemplicious

Nujabeemplicious is a new compilation by the good folks over at music blog Rappamelo. The catalogue consists of 20 tracks that have been sampled by the late great Jun Seba, better known as Nujabes.

Think of classic material by jazz legends like Ahmad Jamal, Miles Davis and Yusef Lateef, the beautiful soul song “We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue” by Curtis Mayfield, and dusty originals from Brazil and France. This selection is only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to music sampled by the legendary producer from Japan, so we can only hope for more editions of Nujabeemplicious.


01. Francis Lai – Vivre Pour Vivre (Think Different)
02. Isaac Hayes – Breakthrough (Peaceland)
03. Gloria Lynne – Thank You Early Bird (Sky is Falling)
04. Dinah Washington – Willow Weep For Me (After Hanabu (Listen To My Beat) )
05. Ahmad Jamal – Lament (Kujaku)
06. Miles Davis – Joshua (Horn In The Middle)
07. Curtis Mayfield – We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue (Folklore)
08. Gong – Mandrake (Strive)
09. The Friends of Distinction – When a Little Love Began to Die (Don’t Even Try It)
10. Dinah Washington – What a Diff’rence a Day Makes (Flowers)
11. Stanley Turrentine and Astrud Gilberto – Vera Cruz (1st Samurai)
12. Larry Ridley – Feelin’ Blue (Light on the Land)
13. Miles Davis – Concierto De Aranjuez (Adagio) (Steadfast)
14. The Isley Brothers – Summer Breeze (Steadfast)
15. Yusef Lateef – Love Theme From The Robe (Feather)
16. Yusef Lateef – Love Theme from Spartacus (The Final View)
17. Toquinho – Deixa (F.I.L.O.)
18. Chet Baker – What’ll i do (Sea Of Cloud)
19. John Hicks – After the Morning (Flowers)
20. Nana Caymmi – Tens (Calmaria) (Luv(Sic) Pt.3)